Department of Prehistorical Archaeology

The Department of Prehistorical Archaeology focuses in detail on a stage of the past whose knowledge is entirely dependent on the acquisition and correct interpretation of archaeological sources because written sources are either not available at all (prehistory) or only to a very limited extent (protohistory). The structure of the department is set so that, with the exception of the Paleolithic and Mesolithic, at least one specialist is available for each basic chronological stage of prehistory (Neolithic, Eneolithic, Bronze Age, etc.).

The Department of Prehistorical Archaeology also includes a detached workplace in Kutná Hora, which originated from a former archaeological field expedition to the Neolithic housing estate Bylany located nearby. The detached workplace in Kutná Hora is responsible for the implementation of archaeological monument care in the Kutná Hora and Kolín region. In addition to the standard activities oriented in this direction, new methodological and methodological procedures of field research are tested here.

Department members
Head of the department: Doc. Mgr. Petr Květina Ph.D.
Deputy: PhDr. Miroslav Dobeš Ph.D.

RNDr. Hana Brzobohatá Ph.D.
PhDr. Pavel Burgert, Ph.D.
Mgr. Michal Ernée Ph.D., DSc.
PhDr. Miloslav Chytráček Ph.D.
Mgr. Martin Ježek Ph.D.
doc. PhDr. Luboš Jiráň CSc.
Mgr. Kateřina Kleinová
Libuše Kombercová
Jan Komberec
Mgr. Markéta Končelová Ph.D.
Mgr. Michaela Langová, Ph.D.
Mgr. Petr Limburský Ph.D.
Jana Poupová
Mgr.Jaroslav Řídký Ph.D.
doc. PhDr.Vladimír Salač CSc.
PhDr. Radka Šumberová Ph.D.
Mgr. Jiří Unger, Ph.D.